Email   Password


ASHRAE Membership

ASHRAE membership is open to any person associated with heating, ventilation, air conditioning or refrigeration. ASHRAE is unique because its membership is drawn from a wide range of disciplines relating to the HVAC&R field. Approximately 51,000 individuals from more than 100 nations belong to the Society.

Discounts on Publications

ASHRAE members earn 15% off publications. Hundreds of titles are available including the complete collection of ASHRAE Standards including 90.1, 62.1 and 189.1.
Click here for information on joining or to join ASHRAE

Develop Leadership Skills

When you join ASHRAE, you are making an investment in yourself. When you become active in the Society by giving your time and sharing your knowledge, you get even more out of that investment.

Network with Industry Professionals

Each month, all over the world, ASHRAE chapters convene for an informational program featuring a speaker or topic that is key to professionals in the industry. Meet with your peers and share ideas.
Need technical info? Search ASHRAE's Bookstore >

Industry Reaps the Benefits of ASHRAE Scholarships

Sep 23, 2013

Contact: Amanda Dean
Public Relations

ATLANTA - "The ASHRAE scholarship program is making a difference in the lives of the outstanding students that it touches."

That’s according to David Meredith, chair of the ASHRAE Scholarship Trustees on awarding $106,000 in scholarship money for the 2013-2014 academic year.

“When I look at the global leadership that past scholarship recipients have demonstrated throughout their professional career, I am proud of what the ASHRAE Scholarship Program has been able to accomplish,” Meredith said.  “I can’t wait to see how this year’s recipients help shape our future.”

The recipients of ASHRAE’s scholarship assistance include the following:

  • Reuben Trane Scholarship: $10,000 to be awarded over two years, Richard Melo, Wentworth Institute of Technology, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by the Trane Co. in memory of its founder, an innovative engineer, inventor and business executive.
  • Willis H. Carrier Scholarships: $10,000 for one year, Breeann Foran, Montana State University, mechanical engineering; and Nicholas Rekstad, Pennsylvania State University, architectural engineering. The scholarship was established by the Carrier Corp. in memory of its founder, who installed the world’s first scientifically designed air-conditioning system.
  • Lynn G. Bellenger Engineering Scholarship: $5,000 for one year, Tiffany Williams, North Carolina A&T State University, architectural engineering. The scholarship, which is being awarded for the first time this year, recognizes a female undergraduate engineering student. It is named in memory of the Presidential Member Lynn G. Bellenger, the Society’s first female president.
  • Frank M. Coda Scholarship: $5,000 for one year, Travis Norris, East Carolina University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was created in memory of ASHRAE’s former executive vice president, who served from 1981-2004.
  • David C.J. Peters Scholarship: $5,000 for one year, Mei Yung Wong, Oklahoma State University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship is awarded to a third-year student in a four-year undergraduate mechanical engineering program or a fourth-year student in a five-year undergraduate mechanical engineering program at Pennsylvania State University, Virginia Tech, California State University, Oklahoma State University, University of Texas, Clemson University, North Carolina State University, University of Nebraska, Cal Poly State University and University of Nevada. The scholarship was created by Southland Industries to honor Peters, an advocate of recruiting quality.
  • General Scholarships: $5,000 for one year, Mitchell Hoesing, South Dakota State University, mechanical engineering; and Peter Kohler, University of North Carolina, mechanical engineering.
  • Memorial Scholarship: $5,000 for one year, Nathan Stoltzfus, Ohio State University, agricultural engineering.

The following awards provide one-year $3,000 scholarships:

  • Lynn G. Bellenger Engineering Technology Scholarship: Sara Piekunka, Rochester Institute of Technology, mechanical engineering technology. The scholarship recognizes female engineering technology students and is named in memory of Presidential Member Bellenger. This is the first year that the scholarship is being awarded
  • Region III Boggarm S. Setty Scholarship: Hunter Bachman, University of Delaware, mechanical engineering. This scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate engineering student attending an institution within ASHRAE Region III, which covers Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia and Washington, D.C., and is named after Boggram Setty, Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member.  
  • Duane Hanson Scholarship: Kim Rogers, Kettering University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by Gayner Engineers and is named for the company’s former president.
  • Alwin B. Newton Scholarship: Man Sze Chan, The University of Hong Kong, building services engineering. The scholarship is named for an industry pioneer and ASHRAE Fellow who was granted 219 patents.
  • Henry Adams Scholarship: Mahmoud Mohammed, University of Illinois, mechanical engineering. The scholarship was established by Henry Adams, Inc. in memory of its founder, a Charter Member and sixth president of ASHRAE’S predecessor society, ASHVE, established in 1899.
  • Region VIII Scholarship: Gaizka Lasa, University of Oklahoma, industrial engineering. The scholarship is awarded to students attending schools within the geographic boundaries of ASHRAE Region VIII, which includes Arkansas, Oklahoma, Mexico and parts of Louisiana and Texas.
  • Donald E. Nichols Scholarship: Anthony Taylor, Tennessee Technological University, mechanical engineering. The scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate engineering student attending Tennessee Technological University. It is named for a former ASHRAE vice president and graduate of Tennessee Technological University.   
  • Bachelor of Engineering Technology Scholarship: Yoginder Rana, Ferris State University, HVAC&R technology.
  • Associate of Engineering Technology Scholarship: Cody Bomers, Grand Rapids Community College, HVAC&R Technology.
  • High School Senior Scholarships: Elizabeth Lynch, Iowa State University, engineering; Jacquelyn Sommers, Kansas State University, architectural engineering; Joshua Roper, University of Wisconsin, mechanical engineering; and Kali Rosendo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, environmental engineering. The scholarships were established in 2010 for high school seniors entering their freshman year of college in an engineering or engineering technology program.

Over the course of 24 years ASHRAE has awarded over $1.3 million to approximately 275 deserving undergraduate and graduate students. For more information on ASHRAE scholarships, visit www.ashrae.org/scholarships. Applications are now being accepted for the 2014-15 undergraduate, regional/chapter and university-specific scholarships. The deadline is Dec. 1, 2013.

ASHRAE, founded in 1894, is a building technology society with more than 50,000 members worldwide. The Society and its members focus on building systems, energy efficiency, indoor air quality, refrigeration and sustainability. Through research, standards writing, publishing, certification and continuing education, ASHRAE shapes tomorrow’s built environment today.